SQL Server DBA

Create a SQL Server database with SSMS

Tutorial to create a SQL Server database with SSMS (SQL Server Management Studio). How to create a SQL Server database with SQL Server Management Studio, i.e. SSMS. In this tutorial, let’s learn how to add a new MS SQL database to an instance. Indeed, to start, it’s mandatory to create a database to create and use SQL objects. It is possible to perform almost

SQL Server DBA

Create SQL Server user with SSMS and set up access rights

How to create a new SQL Server user with SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS)? This SQL Server administration tutorial explains how to create a SQL Server user login with SSMS, used to connect to the databases of an instance. The user login can have a Windows security or the SQL Server security. Security management in SQL Server in general and in SQL databases is

SQL Server DBA

Download SQL Server 2019 developer edition

How to download the Microsoft SQL Server 2019 developer edition for free? SQL Server 2019 developer is the free edition, and the download contains the full set of available features. It also provides a real option for evaluation for developments, tests, and proof of concepts. Nevertheless, it is not for use in a production environment. 1. How to download the SQL Server 2019 developer

SQL Server DBA

Clear the SQL Server transaction log and fix the 9002 error

How to clear the SQL Server transaction log and fix the error 9002? It is time to clear the transaction log when a SQL Server database is slow, or the available disk space is getting abnormally small. Indeed, it is sometimes enough to clear the SQL Server transaction log and reduce the files in the SQL Server database. Often, during this operation, this message

SQL Server DBA

Drop a SQL Server database with a script

How to delete a SQL Server database with a script? And delete all associated files? These files are the .mdf, .ndf, .ldf files and also the .bak backup files. Use the SQL Server Drop database command as below. With a check beforehand to avoid errors. It runs the command only if the SQL Server database exists on the given server and instance. Create a

SQL Server DBA

Cannot drop the database because it is currently in use

How to fix the SQL Server error Cannot drop the database because it is currently in use? Also know as the 3702 error, the SQL Server error Cannot drop the database because it is currently in use is frequent in multi-user enfironements. It is possible to manage SQL databases with scripts or via the various windows of SQL Server Management Studio. For example, you

SQL Server DBA

Install a second instance of SQL Server

How to install a second instance of SQL Server? During the first installation of SQL Server, there are two options for the instances, te first option is to install the default instance, the other option is to install a named instance. To install another instance, follow the steps below and adapt according to the SQL Server configuration. Add multiple additional instances to a SQL

SQL Server DBA

Create a SQL Server database with a script

In order to create a new SQL Server database with one script, just follow this article and especially the code snippet. To create a Microsoft database with a Transact-SQL script, use the CREATE DATABASE function as explained in this post. First, a database represents the main part of a Relational Database Management System. An RDBMS contains and runs databases. A database contains SQL objects

SQL Server DBA

Query to display SQL Server version details

Display the SQL Server version number with details using a query? Using SQL Server Management Studio, here is a query to display SQL Server exact version. It is possible by using simple T-SQL queries and stored procedures. For example, it is very helpful to know the exact version of SQL Server installed. Especially when working on security patches and upgrades, to ensure compatibility and

Administration SQL Server

Créer une base de données avec SSMS

Tutoriel pour créer une base de données SQL Server avec SSMS (SQL Server Management Studio). Comment créer une base de données SQL Server avec SQL Server Management Studio, c’est-à-dire SSMS ? Dans ce tutoriel, nous allons apprendre à ajouter une nouvelle base de données MS SQL à une instance. En effet, pour commencer, il est obligatoire de créer une base de données pour créer

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Créer un utilisateur SQL Server avec SSMS et configurer ses droits

Comment créer un nouvel utilisateur SQL Server avec SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS) ? Dans ce tutoriel SQL Server, voici comment créer un login utilisateur avec SSMS pour se connecter aux bases de données d’une instance. Le login utilisateur permet de se connecter aux bases de données Microsoft. La gestion de la sécurité dans SQL Server en général et aux bases de données SQL

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Télécharger SQL Server 2019 gratuit en édition développeur

Lien pour télécharger SQL Server 2019 en édition Developer gratuite. Cette édition contient l’ensemble des fonctionnalités disponibles. Et elle constitue également une véritable possibilité d’évaluation pour les développements, les tests et les POC (Proof Of Concept). Néanmoins, elle ne doit pas être utilisée dans un environnement de production. En effet, les développeurs SQL se doivent d’installer l’outil SGBD localement pour en comprendre l’architecture et

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Vider le journal des transactions SQL Server

Comment vider le journal des transactions SQL Server et réduire la taille de la base sur le disque ? La base de données Microsoft SQL Server est lente ou l’espace disque disponible sur le serveur se réduit anormalement. Pour résoudre ce problème, il suffit parfois de vider le journal des transactions SQL Server et de réduire les fichiers de la base de données. Souvent,

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Supprimer une base de données SQL Server avec un script

Comment supprimer une base de données SQL Server avec un script en T-SQL ? Ainsi que tous les fichiers associés? Soit les fichiers .mdf, .ndf, .ldf et aussi les fichiers de sauvegardes .bak ? Utiliser la commande SQL DROP DATABASE comme ci-dessous, c’est à dire avec une vérification au préalable pour éviter les erreurs. Lancer la commande uniquement si la base de données SQL

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Impossible de supprimer la base de données en cours d’utilisation

Comment éviter l’erreur impossible de supprimer la base de données avec SQL Server ? Ou simplement l’erreur SQL Server 3702. Il est possible de gérer les bases de données SQL avec des scripts ou via les différentes fenêtres de SQL Server Management Studio. Par exemple, vous pouvez simplement supprimer une base de données avec une commande SQL DROP DATABASE. Cependant, s’il existe des connexions

Administration SQL Server

Installer une deuxième instance SQL Server

Comment installer une deuxième instance SQL Server à un serveur ? Pendant la première installation de SQL Server, deux options se présentent. La première option est d’installer l’instance par défaut, l’autre option est d’installer une instance nommée SQL. Pour installer une autre instance, suivre les étapes suivantes et adapter en fonction de la configuration MS SQL. Ajouter des instances supplémentaires à un serveur SQL

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Créer une base de données SQL Server avec un script

Comment créer une base de données SQL Server avec un script ? Pour créer une base de données avec du code Transact-SQL, il faut utiliser la fonction SQL CREATE DATABASE. Voici donc un script de création de base de données SQL Server en T-SQL à adapter au cas par cas. Créer une base de données SQL Server avec du code T-SQL Cet exemple de

Pas d'image
Administration SQL Server

Afficher la version exacte de SQL Server avec une requête

Comment afficher la version SQL Server exacte d’une base de données? Avec Microsoft SSMS, abréviation de SQL Server Management Studio, le but ici est d’afficher la version exacte de la base de données. Il faut exécuter la commande SQL présentée et expliquée ci-après. Par exemple, il est très utile de connaître la version exacte du serveur SQL installé. En particulier lorsqu’on travaille sur les correctifs