SSAS

Tabular model error occurred while opening

Visual studio error : Error occurred while opening tabular model, it occurs when opening the SSAS model on the workspace. Then Visual Studio crashes because the network connection was lost. The exact error message is something like : An error occurred while opening the model on the workspace database. For example, the local tabular model development environment lose connectivity to the repository for a

SSAS

ROLAP HOLAP and MOLAP differences

What are the differences between OLAP, ROLAP, MOLAP and HOLAP SSAS cubes? They allow the implementation of data analysis systems. Also known as multidimensional databases, they allow a different approach to that of so-called relational or OLTP databases. These decision support systems provide an in-depth, aggregated and rapid view of the data. Difference between a ROLAP, MOLAP and HOLAP SSAS cubes But in practice,

SSAS

Median value of SSAS members in MDX

How to calculate the median value of SSAS members in MDX in a Microsoft SSAS cube? The median function, with the MEDIAN syntax, is the only SSAS function to use. The AVG function, for example, is used to calculate member averages. Rather than inventing a calculated member that will count the distinct number of members in order to average them. Indeed, with the MDX

SSAS

Organize SSAS measures in folders with MDX

How to hide and organize SSAS measures in folders with MDX code ? And allow the possibility to group them for Analysis Services end-users? Indeed, browsing an SSAS cube from Microsoft Excel or Power BI for Ad-Hoc Reporting is very convenient. However, if the list of measures calculated in MDX is several tens or hundreds of items, they must be classified. Ideally, they should

SSAS

Masquer et organiser les indicateurs SSAS en dossiers

Comment masquer et organiser les indicateurs SSAS en dossiers ? Et donc permettre la possibilité de les regrouper pour les utilisateurs finaux d’Analysis Services? En effet, parcourir un cube SSAS avec Microsoft Excel ou Power BI pour du Reporting Ad-Hoc est très pratique. Par contre, si la liste de mesures calculés ou KPI fait quelques dizaines ou centaines d’éléments, il faut les classer. D’autre

SSAS

Glossaire Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services

Ce glossaire Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services (SSAS) contient des définitions simples des objets et concepts pour mieux appréhender et comprendre le fonctionnement des cubes OLAP de Microsoft. En effet le module Analysis Services est au cœur de la suite Business Intelligence de Microsoft depuis des années. C’est la partie qui permet l’analyse multidimensionnelle à travers le traitement et le stockage des données dans

SSAS

Calculer la médiane de membres MDX

Avec SSAS, comment calculer la médiane de membres MDX? La fonction médiane, avec la syntaxe MEDIAN() est la seule fonction SSAS à utiliser. La variable AVG() par exemple, sert à calculer les moyennes des membres. Plutôt que d’inventer un membre calculé qui comptera le nombre distinct de membres afin d’en faire la moyenne.   En effet, avec le langage MDX, si vous ne voulez

SSAS

Cube SSAS ROLAP MOLAP et HOLAP

Les bases de données multidimensionnelles ou cubes SSAS OLAP permettent la mise en place de systèmes d’analyse de la donnée. Et ainsi une approche différente de celles des bases de données dites relationnelles. Ces bases de données ou cubes permettent une vision approfondie et rapide des données . Quelle est la différence entre un cube ROLAP, MOLAP et HOLAP ?   L’abréviation OLAP signifie