T-SQL

Reorganize a SQL Server index

How to reorganize a SQL Server index? This operation defragments the bottom level of the indexes by physically reordering the pages, from left to right. The reordering operation also compacts the pages of the index. To better understand this, imagine a recipe book whose pages are no longer in order. You must then reorganise the pages to quickly reach the desired page. Reorganize a

T-SQL

Create a SQL Server view with encryption

How to create a SQL Server view with the encryption option? The WITH ENCRYPTION option allows you to hide the view code. Here is an example of code in T-SQL language to create a view with the WITH ENCRYPTION option. Create a SQL Server view with the encryption option First, here is the original tutorial with the script for creating the sales view used

T-SQL

SQL Server partitioning

SQL Server table partitioning allows to physically split the data of one table on the disk. Partitioning means data division that allows to directly access one unique partition instead of all the data from the table. First, why all large tables should have partitions? When accessing hundreds of million lines, it becomes very tricky to get a large bunch of data in seconds. Partitions

T-SQL

Create a SQL Server partition

How to create a table partition in SQL Server? Let’s consider a large table with Sales data. So, this table have a column that stores the year of the sale and the table stores millions of lines. Let’s consider also that some business reports read this data to display yearly totals and compares them to the previous year totals. It is called a year

T-SQL

Create SQL Server partitioned views to group tables having partitions

How to Create SQL Server partitioned views to group data from multiple tables? Find examples of scripts to create views that points to four or more different tables. In this example, each Sales table would contain the sales of a year, a quarter, or a month, to optimize performance. Create SQL Server partitioned views to group multiple tables First, what is a partitioned view?

T-SQL

SQL Server table size and disk space

Listing SQL Server table size and disk space can be very convenient specially to analyse the disk usage for each table. Three different ways, but similar are presented here to display SQL Server tables and disk space used by each table. The third solution also shows the number of lines for every table. Get all SQL Server table names with table size and disk

T-SQL

List user defined table types in SQL Server (UDT)

How to list user defined table types in a SQL Server database? First of all, users declare User Defined Table Type as a particular table structure in the database. This UDT is reusable in database, it is not a system table. It’s a good practice to ensure users can’t insert data with different types or length for example. Or even from different data structure.

days of calendar
T-SQL

Last time table was updated in SQL Server

How to check the last date a table was updated on a SQL Server database? Check the last access and update with a simple SQL query? Thanks to the SQL Server relational database management system tables, a query allows you to display the last changes done. We can apply it to any SQL Server table or view, like last scans, or last updates for

T-SQL

SQL Server ALTER TABLE

How to modify a SQL Server table using the Alter Table command? Simply connect to the server hosting the instance, the database and the table and run an ALTER TABLE SQL Server query. The goal is to update an already existing table to adapt its structure for example. Or the constraints associated to the table. The example script below modify the Sales table previously

T-SQL

SQL Server primary key

How to create a table with a primary key in SQL Server ? A database primary key is designed to allow one unique value to identify a line in a table. First, what is the purpose of a primary key? And moreover, what is the definition of a primary key? A primary key ensures that only one unique line as a specific ID. Script

Pas d'image
T-SQL

Réorganiser un index SQL Server

Une opération de maintenance permet de défragmenter le niveau inférieur des index en réordonnant physiquement les pages, de gauche à droite. Voici un script pour réorganiser un index SQL Server. L’opération de réorganisation compacte également les pages de l’index. Pour mieux comprendre, imaginez un livre de recettes dont les pages ne sont plus ordonnées. Vous devez alors réorganiser les pages afin d’atteindre rapidement la

T-SQL

Créer une vue SQL Server avec encryptage

Comment créer une vue SQL Server avec l’option d’encryptage ? L’option WITH ENCRYPTION en Anglais ou chiffrement en Français permet de masquer le code la vue. Voici un exemple de code en langage T-SQL pour créer une vue avec l’option WITH ENCRYPTION. Créer une vue SQL Server avec l’option d’encryptage Tout d’abord, voici le tutoriel original avec le script de création de la vue

T-SQL

Définition des partitions SQL Server

Quelle définition pour les partitions SQL Server ? Dans une base de données SQL Server, les partitions permettent de diviser physiquement les données d’une même table sur le ou les disques. Cette division des données permet d’accéder directement à une partition unique au lieu de toutes les données de la table. Tout d’abord, pourquoi toutes les grandes tables devraient-elles avoir des partitions ? Lorsque

T-SQL

Créer une table SQL Server avec des partitions

Comment créer une table avec des partition pour dans SQL Server ? Considérons une grande table stockée dans une base SQL Serveur contenant des données de ventes. Cette table contient une colonne qui stocke l’année de la vente et la table stocke des millions de lignes. Considérons également que certains rapports lisent ces données pour afficher les totaux annuels et les comparent à l’année

Pas d'image
T-SQL

Vue partitionnée Sql Server pour regrouper plusieurs tables

Comment créer une vue partitionnée avec SQL Server et regrouper les données de plusieurs tables ? Ce script est un exemple simple pour créer une vue qui pointe sur trois tables différentes. Dans cet exemple, chaque table des Ventes contiendrait les ventes d’un mois ou encore d’un trimestre, pour optimiser les performances. Créer une vue partitionnée SQL Server pour regrouper les données de plusieurs

Pas d'image
T-SQL

Taille des tables SQL Server et espace disque

Lister la taille des tables SQL Server et l’espace disque est pratique pour analyser l’utilisation du disque pour chaque table. Trois façons différentes, mais similaires sont présentées ici. Le but, afficher les tables SQL Server et l’espace disque utilisé par chaque table. La troisième solution montre également le nombre de lignes pour chaque table. Afficher les noms des tables SQL Server avec leur taille

T-SQL

Liste des types de tables définies par l’utilisateur

Comment lister les types de table définies par l’utilisateur dans une base de données SQL Server ? Tout d’abord, les utilisateurs déclarent le type de table définie par l’utilisateur. C’est une structure de table particulière dans la base de données, réutilisable, nommée avec l’abréviation UDT. Cette UDT est réutilisable dans la base de données, ce n’est pas une table système. C’est une bonne pratique

Pas d'image
T-SQL

Dernière date de mise à jour d’une table SQL Server

Comment obtenir la dernière date de mise à jour d’une table dans une base de données SQL Server ? Vérifier le dernier accès et la dernière mise à jour avec une simple requête SQL ? Grâce aux tables du système de gestion des bases de données relationnelles SQL Server, une requête permet d’afficher les dernières modifications effectuées. On peut l’appliquer à n’importe quelle table

Pas d'image
T-SQL

Modifier une table SQL Server (ALTER TABLE)

Comment modifier une table SQL Server à l’aide de la commande ALTER TABLE ? Il suffit de se connecter au serveur hébergeant l’instance, la base de données et la table et d’exécuter une requête ALTER TABLE SQL Server. Le but est de mettre à jour une table déjà existante pour adapter sa structure par exemple. Ou les contraintes associées à la table. Le script

T-SQL

Créer une table SQL Server avec une clé primaire

Comment créer une table avec une clé primaire dans SQL Server ? Une clé primaire de base de données est conçue pour permettre à une valeur unique d’identifier une ligne dans une table. Tout d’abord, quel est l’objectif d’une clé primaire ? Et surtout, quelle est la définition d’une clé primaire ? Une clé primaire garantit qu’une seule ligne unique correspond à un identifiant